Photography Contest

Annual Betty Bowen Award

Deadline |


Theme |


Territory |

North America

Eligibility |

Visual artists working in Washington, Oregon, or Idaho

Entry Fees |


Prizes |

Cash Prize
The Betty Bowen Award is open to all visual artists working in the Pacific Northwest. The winner will be awarded a cash prize up to $15,000, and a selection of works will be shown at the Seattle Art Museum. In addition, two Special Recognition awards in the amount of $2,500 are often granted at the discretion of the committee. The application will close at 11:00 PM PST on August 1, 2021.

Betty Bowen (19181977) was a Washington native and enthusiastic supporter of Northwest artists whose friends established the annual Betty Bowen Award as a celebration of her life and to honor and continue her efforts to provide financial support to the artists of the region. Since 1977, the Seattle Art Museum has hosted the yearly grant application process by which the selection committee chooses one artist from the Northwest to receive an unrestricted cash award, eligible to visual artists working in Washington, Oregon, and Idaho.